Close this search box.

The Aussies will launch their Ashes defence as new world champions | Our 5-Test Guide


the ashes, world test championship, bazball

Cricket’s zenith is back again in 2023, with the one of the greatest rivalries in the world just about here.

Another chapter in the contest between Australia and England in The Ashes begins at Edgbaston, with both sides entering the five-Test series in strong form.

It hasn’t been flowers and roses for the English side over the past decade, especially when the series has been down under, going winless through the last three tours.

However, their fortunes have been much better back home where this year’s series takes place, having not lost an Ashes campaign on home soil in over 20 years.

The last series in England back in 2019 saw a 2-all draw and since Australia held the urn leading into the tour, they retained it.

It’s going to be a series like never before, with England playing exciting, expansive cricket under the terminology of ‘Bazball’.

bazball, the Ashes
‘Bazballers’ Ben Stokes & Brendan McCullum

And the other side, Australia, sits atop the throne as the best Test side in the world, despite a comprehensive series loss in India earlier this year. They certainly pocketed a fair dose of revenge by claiming the World Test Championship to perfectly launch their Ashes defence at The Oval just days out from the first Test.

So here’s everything you need to know heading into this year’s Test series between England and Australia.

When does The Ashes start?

JUNE 16, 2023

The 2023 Ashes series in England begins June 16 at Edgbaston in Birmingham in the 141st year in the history of the match-up.

the ashes, sport calendar 2023

Since there is a significant time difference between the two competing countries, matches will be on overnight in Australia from 8pm for all five of the games.

For the first time ever, England will not host one of The Ashes Tests during August due to their domestic T20 competition The Hundred commencing at that time – definitely showing where cricket is heading!

Where is The Ashes? Full schedule (every game, location & dates)

Like every Ashes series, this year’s has five scheduled matches all across England including two within London.

1st Test: Edgbaston, Birmingham, June 16-21

  • Record: AUS (4), ENG (6), DRAW (5)

2nd Test: Lord’s, London, June 28-July 3

  • Record: AUS (18), ENG (8), DRAW (16)

3rd Test: Headingley, Leeds, July 6-11

  • Record: AUS (9), ENG (8), DRAW (8)

4th Test: Old Trafford, Manchester, July 19-24

  • Record:  AUS (9), ENG (7), DRAW (15)

5th Test: The Oval, London, July 27-August 1

  • Record: AUS (7), ENG (17), DRAW (14)
the ashes
The Ashes | Steve Smith’s campaign in England looms as crucial for the visiting side.

How can I watch The Ashes?

There will only be one place to watch the Ashes this June as Channel 9 has the exclusive rights to the five-match series’ coverage.

Unlike during the upcoming exciting Australian summer of cricket that will be broadcasted via Channel 7 and Fox Cricket, the Ashes will return to Channel 9 and its streaming platform 9 Now.

What happened in the last Ashes series?

The Ashes last happened down under, December ’21 and January ’22, which saw the Aussies stamp their authority and win the series 4-0.

The only thing that held them back from sweeping the English was the rain delays during the fourth Test in Sydney at the SCG, shortening the game time. Even in that rain-impacted match, the Aussies only needing one more wicket at stumps on day five to secure the victory.

However, when it was last on English shores in 2019, it was a much different story with neither side breaking away in a 2-all series draw.

Australia looked in the box seat to win the series late in the third Test at Headingley already having a 1-nil lead. But many of us will remember what happened next; a legendary batting performance that will go down in cricketing folklore. Now-captain Ben Stokes steered his side to their first victory of the series with one of the knocks of his life.

When did Australia last win an Ashes series in England?

Some might confuse Australia retaining The Ashes in the drawn 2019 series in England with them winning it, but that is not the case.

The last time the Aussies were able to win the series on opposition soil was in 2001; a 4-1 result.

Steve Waugh and Adam Gilchrist led their side to victories at Edgbaston, Lord’s, Trent Bridge and The Oval – three of which are grounds that are being used for the upcoming Ashes series.

Australian fast bowler Glenn McGrath received the player of the series award taking 32 wickets across the five matches with best figures of 7/76.

Latest Stories

Best State of Origin jerseys
We've selected and ranked the 10 best State of Origin jerseys of all time
2024 T20 World Cup ultimate guide: Can Australia reclaim the title?
Sport events 2024 calendar australia
Your Ultimate Guide to every unmissable sporting event for 2024, updated
Best sports autobiographies
How many have you done? Here are the 10 best sports autobiographies ever written

Related Articles