Close this search box.

Who are all the previous Women’s World Cup winners? Here’s the full list


A list of the Women's World Cup winners

So how well can you recite the previous Women’s World Cup winners?

Well whether you can or you can’t, the answers are right here.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup has over 30 years of history now, with nine tournaments in seven different countries as of 2023. The footballing pinnacle has created lasting memories; incredible for some and others that certain supporters would wish to forget. 

Whether it’s the United States dominance or Germany’s unbelievable golden goal victory over Sweden, there’s been plenty of legacy moments from the past Women’s World Cup winners. 

Only two nations have been able to conquer all and then do it again, with the United States entering the Australia & New Zealand World Cup with four titles, whilst Germany remain on two.

With more history to be made in 2023, let’s look back at the history of the tournament and all the Women’s World Cup winners. 

Women's World Cup winners, United States 2019
The United States are the defending Women’s World Cup winners, entering the 2023 tournament.

Previous Women’s World Cup winners

1991: United States

Final: United States 2-1 Norway

The inaugural Women’s World Cup champions were the USA after arguably the greatest female footballer of all-time, Michelle Akers-Stahl, put two into the back of the net in the final. 

With the game tied heading into the remaining 15 minutes, Akers-Stahl’s second in the 78th put the nail in the coffin, and made them the first nation on the Women’s World Cup winners list.

1995: Norway

Final: Norway 2-0 Germany

Norway proved experience is key the second time around, putting on a strong performance against Germany to claim their one and only World Cup to date.

Two first half goals was all that was needed in the end, with a scoreless second half securing the win.

Women's World Cup winners, Norway 1995
Women’s World Cup winners, Norway 1995

1999: United States

Final: United States 0-0 China (5-4 to USA in penalties)

Only three World Cups in and the United States had put themselves alone on top of the Women’s World Cup winners list after a gripping penalty shootout against China. 

In front of over 90,000 on home soil, the USA slotted all of their penalties to secure World Cup number two. 

2003: Germany

Final: Germany 2-1 Sweden

The 2003 World Cup final is arguably the greatest of all-time, with Germany backing up their victory over Sweden in the 2001 UEFA Women’s Championship final with a golden goal win to land a maiden title. 

Although the favourites came out on top in the end, Sweden led at halftime with German striker Maren Meinert 46th minute goal ultimately sending it to extra time. 

Bench defender, Nia Künzer, for Germany and one of the shortest players on the field out lept Swedish opposition to header the ball in to win the World Cup.

Women's World Cup winners, Germany 2003
Women’s World Cup winners, Germany 2003

2007: Germany

Final: Germany 2-0 Brazil

Although USA had won two World Cups, the one thing they hadn’t done was win back to back titles which Germany did in 2007.

What was shaping up to be a tight contest at halftime, with neither team able to score, turned one sided with Germany bagging two goals in the 52nd and 86th minutes. 

2011: Japan

Final: Japan 2-2 United States (3-1 to Japan in penalties)

The United States looked all but certain to secure their third World Cup twice in this match, ultimately for Japan’s resilience to come up trumps in penalty shootouts. 

Heading into the final ten minutes of regulation, the USA led 1-0 until midfielder Aya Miyama sent it to extra time. The second time was when Japan scored with three minutes remaining in additional time as the USA looked sure to secure the World Cup.

However they struggled mightily in the penalty shootout, missing their first three attempts to gift Japan a well deserved win to put them on the Women’s World Cup winners list.

Women's World Cup winners, Japan, United States, 2011, 2015
Women’s World Cup winners, Japan in 2011 and United States in 2015.

2015: United States

Final: United States 5-2 Japan

The US didn’t have to wait long to get their revenge on Japan on the biggest stage, destroying them in front of over 50,000 in Vancouver. 

A first half hat-trick from striker Carli Lloyd was incredible, and is up there as one of the best performances in Women’s World Cup history. 

2019: United States

United States 2-0 Netherlands

A record fourth title in 2019 puts the United States well and truly on top of the Women’s World Cup winners list.

After a scoreless first half, there was hope Netherlands could pull off a miracle upset, but the US flexed their superiority with goals in the 61st and 69th minutes claiming the victory.

The United States win gave them the incredible four final wins from five games, a record unparalleled in women’s football.

Latest Stories

Best State of Origin jerseys
We've selected and ranked the 10 best State of Origin jerseys of all time
2024 T20 World Cup ultimate guide: Can Australia reclaim the title?
Sport events 2024 calendar australia
Your Ultimate Guide to every unmissable sporting event for 2024, updated
Best sports autobiographies
How many have you done? Here are the 10 best sports autobiographies ever written

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles